Ready . . . Set . . . Swatch

I’ve been trolling the discount yarn websites looking for a good yarn to make this cardigan. I had a budget in mind, and I was more than pleasantly surprised to find yarn.com (WEBS) had Nashua Creative Focus on a one-day-only sale this past Wednesday. It’s a decent, washable 100% wool, and the sale price let me come in way below budget.  As I was finishing my order online, I discovered that the store itself was located right along the road we would be taking up to Maine.

What could I do but designate the order for in-store pickup? We arrived at the WEBS store today and I spent an hour there, fondling and gushing over all the yarns I’ve ever wanted to fondle and gush over. Ladies, this store has absolutely everything.  I think they have every brand of yarn and needle, as well as an
outstanding selection of buttons and notions.  My wish list suddenly overfloweth.

The store has a regular yarn store in front, and a huge warehouse in the back with all the sale yarns.  Just an amazing assortment.

The end of the story is that I purchased several skeins of other yarns in the store today in addition to my internet order, and STILL was under my budget for just the sweater itself.

We are headed for several days in Maine with no TV and only so-so internet access, so it will be a great time to swatch the sweater yarn.  I am looking forward to these several days of just me and hubby, books, knitting, and the great outdoors.  Near perfection.

Ninnawe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy Valentino
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 23:55:21

    Webs is a wonderful, magical place. I love going there. Have fun in Maine 😀

    Reply

  2. Chanda Chambliss
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 03:57:31

    Miss your face!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

