Re: Mindless Knitting

Inky

Ninnawe, your straightforward and calming words make me feel reassured and confident, and just by breaking the whole into parts, really. I think you must be an awesome parent.

And btw, wow! I was looking for a good ribbed pattern to try. I even bought the Shubui Toe Up Sock by Ann Berk  pattern – the ribs looked like a good choice for fudging width measurements. In your experience, yes or no? I am queuing the pattern on Ravelry and ordering the book Sensational Knitted Socks on Amazon.com.

There’s another question I have. I would love to be known as the sock lady in my family and friends circle – but what do you do when you are knitting for a present or a surprise? Do you estimate? Does this kind of ribbed pattern fit the bill? Or is there another that you like?

Love Regia sock yarn, didn’t realize they resisted pilling, as I, too, cold wash and air dry my knitted socks, out of habit really. I would love to find another hand-painted or hand-dyed sock yarn, in addition to the Lobster Pot yarn. I wear clogs for comfort and to show off my hand-knit socks, but of course, lol! So a wild pattern or pop of color is what I like best.

I do like the tightness you can get with dpns, without always adjusting for the “ladders” down each side of the sock when you use a magic loop or two circular needles. I am certain there is a trick for this; I just haven’t found it, or it seems too complicated – i.e. slip the last stitch onto the next needle, next round reverse, turn around, sit down and give the dog a bone… you see what I mean.

The problem I have with dpns is that I’m a loose knitter, and therefore the ending stitches are forEVER falling off as I make the rounds. Any trick to keeping them on?

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leosmom
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 00:28:51

    I put a point protector on the back end of each DPN as I knit onto it. When I come aroune the circle, I take it off and put it on the fresh needle I’m knitting onto. Makes them like reversable straight single point needles.

    Reply

    • weknit3tog
      Sep 08, 2011 @ 00:37:30

      Oh my gosh, thank you so much for your tip! I never even thought of that – I don’t think I’m an intuitive knitter, even after all these years lol. – Inky

      Reply

  2. weknit3tog
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 00:48:30

    I should have included that I used Comfort Zone plastic needles for socks. They are flexible and the yarn will not slip off. I can literally throw the work on the needles into my purse or bag, and the stitches will not come off. Quite different from bamboo, wood or metal. You can get them at knittingonthego.com – Ninnawe

    Reply

    • weknit3tog
      Sep 08, 2011 @ 12:53:02

      I went to the website, but I can’t seem to get to an order page? How long ago did you order last? I am so willing to try these needles as the stitches falling off was the main reason I stuck with magic loop and 2 circs. — Inky

      Reply

Leave a Reply

