Ready to Begin Again

Ninnawe:   I frogged my sweater back to nothingness.  But before I did, I took a gauge measurement, and also held up the entire piece across my ample rear end.  I learned two things:  (1) my gauge is a little off from the pattern specifications, and (2) the piece fits perfectly as is.

The drape was just perfect for the sweater IMHO, so I am proceeding in confidence with the 120 stitch cast on.  It will be slightly larger than the pattern size, but not as big as the next size.  I can live with that.

I also have to keep up with my Christmas gift projects, and have completed 2 pairs of fingerless mitts recently (both made from Cascade 220).  I’ll be working back and forth on gifts and the KAL sweater.


I have all day today (Saturday) to knit, watch college football, and spend time with my family.   It is going to be a great day.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. weknit3tog
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 02:13:10

    inky: Why were you frogging if it fit? I have a feeling my sweater won’t be wearable at the gauge it is. I think I’m going to soldier on, though.

    Reply

  2. bizz
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 05:25:19

    Heyyy…i want a pair of those gloves…actually it looks like the purple ones match my sockies..hint hint..:) love you!!

    Reply

  3. weknit3tog
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 13:48:08

    ninnawe: Oops, I wasn’t too clear. I frogged my first attempt because the cast on edge was lumpy and uneven, and my decrease idea didn’t look good. While the gauge had looked right over 4″ on my swatch, when I measure the full piece before ripping it out, I discovered it had gained an extra inch and a half over the whole width of the sweater. So I guess my gauge was off by just a fraction of a stitch. I’m still using the same size 8 circular needle.

    I’m much happier with the new effort. I used the twisty cable maneuver in the video you posted earlier, but I still put my yarn between the last two stitches instead of through the last stitch on the left needle. I like the way the cast on looks now. I didn’t want it to be uneven because it is the bottom of the back of the sweater and very noticeable.

    Reply

    • weknit3tog
      Sep 25, 2011 @ 19:19:24

      ninnawe: I also have to confess that I was a bit cavalier and arrogant with my knitting the first time around … I thought, “It’s only garter stitch, so I don’t have to pay too much attention.” As I looked closely at the first effort, I saw where there were several times I had split the yarn when taking a stitch, with the resulting loose loop.

      Thusly, I have moved this from from “semi-mindless knitting (see one of my earlier posts) to “gotta pay attention” knitting.

      I really want to wear this sweater when I’m done, so starting now I’m going to pay better attention.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

