Decreases

ninnawe:  I wanted to bring up the matter of decreases in this KAL.  The directions simply specify “decrease on each so-and-so row”.  So, what exactly does that mean?  I looked through several of my knitting how-to books for guidance.  The choices seemed to be either knit 2 together at the beginning and end of the row, or bind off 1 at the beginning of two rows.  In either case, I thought this might disrupt the edge stitches and cause a lump when sewing together.  I wanted to maintain the edge selvedge the same all along the side, so what I decided to do is a variation on the K2tog idea:

On the dec row (always on the right side):  K 2 stitches, K2tog, knit to last 4 stitches, k2tog, K last 2 stitches.

I’ve finished the shaping decreases now on the back, and am pleased with how it turned out.  The edges are consistent, and the k2tog is not noticeable.

For me, each decrease row was followed by 11 rows of knitting (or every 12th row was a decrease row).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. weknit3tog
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 02:21:13

    Inky: Dang, maybe I don’t knit as consistently as I thought lol, when I look at your work!! My edges do have lumps but I thought they would get eaten up in the seaming. I got the same count of rows, btw, between decreases. You can tell I’m not a detail person when it comes to finishing techniques lol.

    Reply

  2. weknit3tog
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 02:23:40

    PS Very nice color, btw

    Reply

Leave a Reply

