Got My Back

ninnawe:  I have finished the back of the sweater.  I used 262 grams to knit the back, which equals 2.62 skeins of the Nashua Creative Focus Superwash that I am using.  That works out to 566 yards.  At this rate (and figuring the back is approximately 1/3 of the entire sweater), I estimate that 8 skeins will be enough for the whole sweater … 9 tops.

This is puzzling to me because the yardage on my yarn (216 yds per skein) is nearly identical to the pattern yarn (Berrocco Ultra Alpaca at 215 yds per skein).   The pattern specified 12 skeins for my size, so that’s what I bought.  Looks like I’ll have enough yarn to make myself a hat and a pair of gloves AND a scarf to wear with this thing.  Now, wouldn’t that be a vision!

I’ll be casting on both fronts soon.  The pattern specifies the exact instructions for the Left Front, and then says for the Right Front, “Work to correspond to left front, reversing all shaping.”  Yeah, right. I do not trust myself to do a mirror
image of a pattern, especially when I put it down often, and alternate knitting on this sweater with knitting on other items.  I suppose I could write out the Right Front instructions myself, but that seems a little boring.

So, I plan to knit them at the same time.  That way, I can be sure the shaping is identical on both pieces.

How are the rest of you doing?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. weknit3tog
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 00:58:22

    Inky: the day was so beautiful, I just hung out with friends. But doesn’t explain the rest of the time does it? This week looks hopeful- I am to be left to my own devices so knitting is on the only to-do list I have!

    Reply

  2. weknit3tog
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 16:04:18

    Inky; PS – Your knitting is so consistent – I love that. I have a long way to go, but you inspire me. How do you do it? I find if I am watching a tv show or even thinking about daily events, my tension on the yarn tightens up or loosens up according to my emotions lol. How do you keep your stitiches even?

    Reply

  3. erin mcdonald
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 21:41:31

    I love that you want to avoid probs by knitting both sides at one time. I am doing two sleeves at once because the last around I had one sleeve end up 2″ larger. I think it will make finishing much more exciting too. Speedy needles sent you way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

