WIP Wednesday – A Knitting Course!

Inky: I am so proud of myself. I just signed up for a hat designing course on Craftsy.com with Stephanie Japel. It’s called “Knitting Hats Four Ways.

Even though I design and sell felted hats part-time for a living, I felt I wanted to explore how and why a hat is constructed just so.

Stephanie Japel is a well-known knitting designer. Here is her bio:

She has appeared in a number of books and publications including Big Girl Knits, Stitch N Bitch Nation, KnitGrrl, Knit Wit, Not Another Teen Knitting Book, Interweave Knits, Knitscene, Knit.1, and Vogue Knitting Magazine.

She has designed patterns for Stitch Diva Studios, the yarn companies Southwest Trading Company, JCA Reynolds, Artful Yarns, Tilli Tomas, and for Mission Falls.

She is lively, entertaining, easy to follow, and I am learning hat construction from the bottom up lol.

If you get a chance, Craftsy.com has quite a few KnitLab courses to explore with previews. This is my first course, but it won’t be my last. I love learning new things, especially when it involves yarn and sticks.

PS: I’m still working on my Avocet B Cardigan – after several misfires, I am like a silver bullet, headed in the right direction – nothing can stop me now. Except maybe a good cup of coffee. lol. Here are my latest pictures of the WIP project:

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin mcdonald
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 21:43:04

    I am impressed! I saw those classes but didn’t give it much thought. I will look again with a discerning eye! I like that you are taking your part-time crafting business to the next level! Kudos to you!! Brava

    Reply

  2. erin mcdonald
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 10:04:11

    I’ve been thinking of your hat class and it came to me that there was an interesting podcast with Kate Oates who has written a book called Math for Hats. She was charming and entertaining and the book tells you how to make a pattern for any size head. Here’s the link http://nevernotknitting.blogspot.com/2011/08/nevernotknitting-podcast-episode-55.html

    Reply

  3. weknit3tog
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 10:10:29

    ninnawe: Thanks, erin, for that hat link. I have a big head, and I can never get a store-bought hat on. The hat felting intrigues me, especially after seeing Inky’s hats in person. I might finally be make a hat that fits me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

