Maybe This Will Help

Inky: I found this link on Knitty.com about blocking. It makes sense, I guess.

http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter02/FEATdiyknitter.html

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. weknit3tog
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:37:12

    ninnawe: Thanks, Inky, for that link. That’s about the best piece on blocking that I have ever read. I block my scarves and shawls, but now I know my sweater should be blocked, too.

    Reply

  2. weknit3tog
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:31:39

    Inky: I agree. I didn’t quite get the gist of whether or not you should block before or after seaming. I guess I would go with both, kinda. Wet block each piece. Steam block the whole? Is that what you took away from the article?

    Reply

  3. weknit3tog
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 01:50:56

    ninnawe: I’m going with the flat wet block before seaming. My chest can take care of itself while I’m wearing it.

    I am scared to death of steam blocking anything, I did that just once and ruined the piece. Although, to be fair, I think it was (horrors!) acrylic yarn. This was a looooooong time ago. But I remember the piece simply going limp and dying on me.

    Reply

  4. weknit3tog
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 19:38:06

    Inky: When I block, it usually is a desperation move to get a garment to the OMG size, as I have mentioned previously. Oh, and to finesse mistakes. I just signed up for another Knitlab on “Fitting Your Knits” – so maybe blocking in the future will be for all the right reasons. I plan on posting about the course later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

