WIP Wednesday: What’s On the Needles Besides a Behemoth Sweater Named Avocet B

Inky: Quick note about what’s on my needles.

1. My Bonfire Shawl Collar Cowl – Raverly pattern here:

I am using Abstract Fiber’s Soprano, Bonfire colorway.

I did a temporary sewing to check how the buttons made of nut wood? will look. Am anxious to finish.

As for my Avocet B, I’m up to the decreases on the right front. The pattern is not compelling enough to want me to knit it till I drop. And of course life intervenes a lot. 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin mcdonald
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 01:18:31

    I have a similar problem with my Tea Leaves. I don’t have the burning desire to finish it, the magic loop sleeves is driving me a bit batty. I have been alternating skeins to avoid funky pooling and so I have four balls, tangling as I go. Must finish soon.
    Love the buttons! I think making something quick and easy is part of sweater knitting, like when they serve sorbet between meals as a palate cleanser kind of way.
    Speedy needles.

    Reply

  2. weknit3tog
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 01:26:37

    Inky: Cool comparison and very accurate! And honestly, I better never use a variegated yarn for anything because that there “pooling would send me right over the proverbial edge of knitting lol.

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 11:05:15

    I love the buttons for your cowl. It’s gorgeous.

    Reply

  4. weknit3tog
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 13:01:21

    Inky: Karen, I think they are made of nut wood??? Does that even make sense? They were just so colorful I had to buy! They may, in the end, prove to be too colorful against the colorful yarn. But I think I will wear it that way, for awhile to see….

    Reply

  5. weknit3tog
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 14:18:17

    ninnawe: I bought one of those purple buttons at the WEBS store on my trip. I was intending to put it on the KAL sweater. You have excellent taste, Julie. hehe

    btw, I am adding ‘sorbet knitting’ to my knitting vernacular. Very cool. Thanks, Erin.

    Reply

  6. weknit3tog
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 17:52:50

    Inky: Oh, as always, twins separated at birth! Sorbet knitting is on my knitting note board as well. Yay Erin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

